(The Hosting News) – Goodbye to Friendster as we knew it. Perhaps many had already forgotten about it, but the once popular social networking site is preparing to delete a plethora of user data on May 31st.
While user profiles will remain active, more specific user data will be deleted.
On its help forums, Friendster stated, “Your Friendster account will not be deleted. You will still have the same email login and password in the new Friendster. Also, your list of friends will be preserved, along with your basic profile information. However, all the photos, messages, comments, testimonials, shoutouts, blogs, forums and groups that you may have now will no longer be part of your account by May 31, 2011”.
The site has set up a tool for users to save their data to their computer hard drives.
The statement continued, “We are introducing a new and improved Friendster in the coming weeks that will be focused on entertainment and fun. There will be new features that will leverage on your online activities and will enable you to connect with friends or engage new friends with similar interests”.
The new Friendster is expected to focus more on social gaming. The move comes after the social networking site was acquired by the Malaysian based MOS Global in 2009. Analysts speculate that the action was taken as an attempt to keep Friendster relevant in an age dominated by Twitter and Facebook.
Friendster launched in 2002 but saw its popularity decline as users shifted towards using other popular social networking sites. While once more popular in the United States, most of the site’s current activity comes from Asia.